The FTTH Council Europe sets out its priorities and elects new Board Members and Committee Chairs during its Spring General Assembly

The FTTH Council Europe sets out its priorities and elects new Board Members and Committee Chairs during its Spring General Assembly

Brussels, 27 June 2022 – having organised the highly successful FTTH Conference 2022 in Vienna on May 23-25, the FTTH Council Europe held its first in-person General Assembly since 2019 on June 21-22 in Brussels.

The event presented the opportunity to identify priorities and adopt its work programme for the rest of the year, as well as to elect new Board members and Committee Chairs.

The FTTH Council Europe confirmed its objective to promote the rollout and adoption of full-fibre connectivity as the least carbon emitting and future-proof technology for the digital transformation of Europe.

Fibre networks enable an unparalleled fixed and wireless experience, as well as new innovative digital technologies and services, empowering a leading Digital Society in Europe. This is a prerequisite for safeguarding Europe’s global competitiveness while playing a leading global role in sustainability.

FTTH Council Europe members welcomed and supported recent EU initiatives which will boost fibre roll-out, in particular, “Next Generation EU” and the Recovery and Resilience Facility. With more than €13bn earmarked for broadband connectivity, including FTTH, the public funding for fibre roll-out should be targeted towards territories and projects where it is difficult to finance through private investment.

The FTTH Council Europe will also continue to contribute and provide inputs to relevant upcoming legislative initiatives at EU level aimed at creating a favourable regulatory framework for enhanced connectivity in the EU. The FTTH Council Europe is ready to contribute to discussions with fact-based and high-quality studies and data, which include:


As FTTH coverage in EU39 has now passed the 50% mark, the FTTH Council Europe is increasingly focusing on the adoption of fibre. This year’s Spring General Assembly confirmed the decision to launch an important study which will lead to a series of recommendations to accelerate take-up and effective usage of full-fibre infrastructure in Europe.

The quality of in-home connectivity is a key parameter for FTTH adoption, hence the FTTH Council Europe’s initiative to publish the In-Home Broadband Excellence (IBE) Guide, which describes the technical solutions that are available to Communication Service Providers for maximising performance of in-home connectivity and end-user experience and satisfaction.

The FTTH Council Europe confirmed its readiness to continue helping strengthen the resilience of the Ukrainian FTTH network. The FTTH Council Europe has facilitated support by its members since the outbreak of the military conflict. It has also welcomed the European Commission’s increased coordination role, especially via the “Tech4Ukraine” initiative and the new Digital Tech Hub for Ukraine launched by Commissioner Thierry Breton during the EU Digital Assembly on June 21 in Toulouse.

During the Spring General Assembly, new Board Members and Committee Chairs of the FTTH Council Europe were elected. They all expressed willingness to work towards the mission of the Council to accelerate ubiquitous, full fibre-based connectivity empowering a leading Digital Society throughout Europe.


The elected Board of Directors consists of the following nine members:

  • Eric Festraets, Strategic Marketing Director Fixed Networks at Nokia – President
  • Gerrit Hecking, Senior Vice President Project Finance for Infrastructure at Hamburg Commercial Bank AG – Treasurer
  • Raf Meersman, CEO at Comsof
  • Suzanne Tracy, CTO at SIRO
  • David de Craemer, VP Sales EMEA – Network Cable & Connectivity at CommScope
  • Christof Sommerberg, Senior Vice President Public Affairs at Deutsche Glasfaser Holding GmbH
  • Xavier Renard, Marketing Director at Acome
  • Eric Joyce, Business Development Manager at Adtran
  • Jan Schindler, Market Intelligence & Business Development Manager at Prysmian Group


The Committee Chairs elected at the General Assembly are:

  • Stefano Fogli, Business Development Director EMEA at Adtran – Chair of the Market Intelligence Committee
  • Michael Timmers, Distinguished Member of Technical Staff at Nokia – Chair of the Deployment & Operations Committee
  • Thomas Miller, Executive Director at Hamburg Commercial Bank AG – Chair of the Investors Committee
  • Gijs Phoelich, General Counsel & Company Secretary at Eurofiber – Chair of the Sustainability Committee
  • Maarten Egmond, CTO at Genexis – Chair of the In-Home Broadband Excellence Committee
  • Christel Sandstedt, VP Delivery and Professional Services Manager at PacketFront Software AB – Chair of the Women in Fibre Committee
    • Roshene McCool, Senior Market and Technology Development Manager at Corning Optical Communications GmbH – Vice-Chair of the Women in Fibre Commitee


FTTH Council Europe’s Director General Vincent Garnier is currently Acting Chair of the Policy & Regulation Committee.

FTTH Council Europe Committees are the forum where information is shared among fellow members of the FTTH Council Europe and FTTH industry’s positions are shaped. More information is available at this link.